Have you ever heard the expression Vegan? Many people are confused exactly where the phrase came from and even more people are confused about exactly what is available to eat if they wanted to attempt a vegan lifestyle. To learn the food groups that are permitted for a vegan it is extremely important to understand that there are still important food groups that should not be avoided; your best friends will quickly become fruits and vegetables. These are by far some of the biggest contributors to a vegan diet and will help you to ensure that you are getting all of the nutrients necessary.
With so many people spending an abundance of time focusing on the foods that you can eat when you are a vegan it is also important to start spending some time really looking over some of the foods that you cannot eat. This list can be extremely eye opening to a large number of people who might not otherwise realize many of the restrictions that occur for people who are trying to follow a Vegan diet. In order to really gain the biggest benefit it is important to know upfront that you will need to spend a bit of time reading all of the labels that your food has to ensure you are aware of what you are consuming.
Most people are aware that there are several different levels of vegetarianism. The first is of course standard vegetarian, this is the people who do not eat any meats, dairy products, poultry and finally fish. This is seen as an extremely strict eating habit, but to lighten up a bit there is the lacto-ovo vegetarians. These are people whom consumer dairy products and also eggs but still omit meat from their diets. A lacto vegetarian only consumes dairy products and an ovo vegetarian will consume eggs but not any dairy products. In contrast, a Vegan will consume no animal products and will also avoid all animal products as well.
Vegans have to avoid foods such as honey due to it being made by bees, gelatin which is made from meat byproducts and also different clothing that is made from animal products such as silk, wool and also leather to name a few. This is of course not an all-inclusive list however. There are plenty of other types of foods that must be avoided as well, including things such as cheese, pizza, lasagna, and other foods that include animal products. This might seem frightening for a beginning vegan but fear not.
With the ever growing list of foods that have to be avoided, there are also plenty of foods created that are fine for vegans to consume. The availability of many types of vegan safe foods means that a large number of consumers are able to expand their options beyond what was previously a very small list of foods. This also means that it is possible to eat out much more often than previously as well, however it is still extremely important to remember that regardless of whether you are trying to eat out or just go grocery shopping you need to be fully aware of what is involved in each dish and item in order to determine if it is going to fit into your vegan lifestyle.
While it is sometimes going to take some additional effort to make appropriate selections, it is very much worth the time and effort that you put into it. Living a vegan lifestyle is certainly not easy in today’s society; however, it is certainly not something that is impossible. A bit of time and effort can allow you to live a successful vegan lifestyle while avoiding the foods and items that are not suitable and still ensure that you are eating healthy. A good bit of effort into trying to make sure you are eating healthy is perfectly natural and a vegan lifestyle can certainly work well with this outlook.
Did you know that all Plant Wisdom’s products are vegetarian and vegan friendly? Unlike many store bought supplements, our capsules are made from plant-based Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose (HPMC).